Awareness

The video is neat; ignore the cycling message.

I have deicded the posting a blog entry once every six months is neither effective nor sensible, so I am now promising my few readers – but mostly myself – that I will write more often. Notice the non-committal verbage of my goal. The difficulty in this is that blogging is not my thing. It is is abnormally challenging for me to leave my musings at a few, short thoughts, rather than what seem to be half-novels of esoteric ramblings.

Here’s to trying.

I have been confronted with a few situations over the past few weeks that have culminated to form the simple title of this post. In life, I think the most important gift that we can give others is awareness. Every word we speak, every action we take directly shapes the lives we create for ourselves. This has become such a palpable lesson in my life, rearing its head when I expect it least.

I think that  in the hard times as of late, we have become settled, if not quite comfortable with the idea that if we are unahappy, underpaid, angry, disappointed or let down, we are somehow justified in letting our worst selves get the best of us. We excuse our manners as being a part of our stress. We rationalize our bad mood as being a piece of our impatience. And we validate our actions  in lieu of trying to hold ourselves to a higher standard.  Let’s face it: the economy stinks. The summer hasn’t been that warm, and GASP, Paula Abdul won’t be returning to American Idol. On top of everyday “everythings,” the things that should be everyday nothings seem hard to take.

I always find myself saying to others, “I only have 24 hours in a day. I try to make time for what matters.” It’s really a simple way of saying that in striving to be aware, I can figure out my priorities. I can more clearly see the needs of others, I can better predict where my time will need to be spent. I can step outside of Bridget and into the world.  I often fail in trying to do so, but I feel like a different person when I can.

A wise person once wrote, “We don’t see things as they are; we see them as we are.”  Even in the midst of bad, we can choose to be good, and therefore our world looks good, too.

Even as I write this, I can count on one hand a slew of to-do’s, but today I swear to be aware.

www.yoursmartheart.com

Leave a Reply

