What If?

So, I hear the world is ending tomorrow. HA. (If that’s true, I’d like to know why I chose NOT to splurge on the Chick-fil-A ice cream cone I was dreaming about after spinning class last night.)

Each time a rumor is instigated that predicts the so-called end of our world, senseless buzz begins about what we would do or say or eat or dismiss in the case that we really did know the end was near.  People make jokes about quitting their jobs and spending their life savings on one last trip to Vegas via jumbo jet.

But if we’re serious about it, the would-do’s and would-say’s revolve not around money or jobs, but around other people.

“I would tell him how I feel.”

“I would spend extra special time with a close friend.”

“I would give her a hug and tell her how she’s changed my life.”

“I would say ‘I’m sorry.’”

Similar thoughts occur when someone we love gets hurt, becomes ill, or sadly leaves us. The feelings arise because when we are faced with the unbearable thought of no tomorrow, we beg for second chances with the people we love most.

This got me to thinking: we 20-somethings are past the point in life where we can depend on a physical place like a high school gymnasium or college campus to help us foster and keep relationships with others. We are growing up and older, and are striving to create new beginnings with people we meet along the way. We must also do our best to honor those “forever” kind of friends – those rare ones who know us by heart.

The thing is, we won’t be privy to our last day or moment. We won’t have it broadcasted on the radio or shouted from the mouths of psychics. In a perfect world, we would remember to live like every day is our last. Then, our world only ends when we choose it to be done – when we stop truly living and stop deeply loving.

Whether it’s the people we love, or the ones we have forgotten, we should remember to spend the quality time now. Give the hugs more often. Say the sorry’s sooner. To remember that the world doesn’t let us hold on to much. Not to time. Not to money. And certainly, not on to forever. That’s why it’s important to hold on so tightly to each other.

Tomorrow, our entire lives may very well flash before our eyes, but not because the end is near.  If we get it right, it will occur because we are spending just a few moments remembering to be thankful for the people who brought us to now.

 I don’t know about you, but I’m off to get my ice cream – and maybe this time, I’ll go with a friend.  😉

www.yoursmartheart.com

6 thoughts on “What If?

  1. I too had heard the world was ending tomorrow….so like many others I secreatly reflected upon my life’s works, accomplishments, short-comings, loves and more…..I personally don’t believe it is going to happen, but if it makes all of us stop for a moment….just a moment and think about our lives….it’s well worth the worry !!

    One of my favorite sayings from my dearest friends…

    “BE PRESENT”

  2. You have me thinking what if! And now I know how I want my summer to play out! No more what if’s but just go for it and enjoy! Because like you said you never know when that last moment will come! I want to look back and have no regrets and say Yes I did it!

  3. I used to worry about having a plan and an order of operations to how my life would play out. Once I stopped worrying about the future and living in the moment things stated to fall in place on their own. If you find the one you want to be with for the rest of your life and surround your self withngood people, the rest will come. I used to look outside for all my answers but then I realized that the best advice and guidance I have listened to has come from within…sometimes the distracting things in life have a way of silencing that voice. Thank you for reminding us to slow down and live in the moment, your blogs always remind me to follow my heart and enjoy life to the fullest.

  4. What if i never met you….my life wouldn’t be the same! You are amazing, your words move me beyond tears. You really know how to make people stop in their track and think…what if. xoxox

  5. B. I am trying this again. If you get this it would be a miricle because this is my first time responding to you over this new technology. You are a great person and great things are going to happen for you in the very near future. Mark my words from an older person. You have been a great addition to our family in many ways.

Leave a Reply

